Bob Brenly Replacement Speculation

It was just announced that Bob Brenly will not be returning to the Cubs, as the color analyst on WGN broadcasts.  The Len and Bob (which will soon be renamed to Len and whoever fills the spot) Facebook page released the following statement from Brenly regarding the change:

“Working here in Chicago was one of the most enjoyable experiences of my professional career.  The Ricketts family, everyone associated with the Cubs and WGN and, most importantly, Cubs’ fans everywhere, will always be in our hearts, and Joan and I wish nothing but the best for the organization moving forward.  I was very blessed to have the best play-by-play man in the game as my partner for eight years and Cubs’ fans are very fortunate to have Len Kasper as the voice of the Cubs. I’ll miss working with him and we look fondly toward returning to Chicago in the future.”

So that’s that.  I know the ink on that statement isn’t even dry, yet…but this is a blog.  Not posting irresponsible speculation would be irresponsible of me.  (See what I did there?)  So…some potential candidates to fill the role left by Bob Brenly…

  • Mark Grace: I might get some flack for this one, since he hasn’t passed a field sobriety test since he left the Cubs to be the Diamondbacks’ first baseman.  However, Mark Grace is pretty much an all-time Cub.  He is the last Cub to hit for a cycle.  It would be fitting for him to try to resurrect his personal life in the booth.  Besides, Lenny and Gracey has a nice ring to it.  No?  Yeah…not so much.
  • Rick Sutcliffe: I know.  I’m reaching.  Sut’ legitimately sounds like he loves his ESPN gig every time I hear him on there.  But come on…how awesome would this be?
  • Doug Glanville:  He looks like he would be okay not having the “Doug” song from “The Hangover” sang to him from Mike Greenberg at 8:00am ever again.
  • Nomar Garciaparra: He’s another guy I think is a reach because he likes his ESPN gig.  However, he would be a good fit and seemed to be genuinely liked by Cubs fans when he was with the team.
  • Eric Karros: This is one guy that I could legitimately see joining Len Kasper.  And I like him, so it wouldn’t be as painful as listening to Steve Stone used to be.
  • Steve Berthiaume: I had to pick somebody who is not a former Cub, and since his name was thrown around with the D-Backs job, there at least seems to be some play in this idea of him leaving his really sweet ESPN gig.

Ultimately, this is all speculation.  Any of the names I have mentioned would be excellent additions, from my perspective.  There are some guys (Bobby Valentine) who I would cringe at the thought of, but it’s going to be a waiting game and we’ll find out how it plays when Spring Training starts/

Share Your Thoughts

